How To Delete Your Computer's History (Mac)

 

If you’re concerned about your privacy, it’s a good idea to clear the history when you’re done browsing. Here's how to clear your browser history in each of the most popular Web browsers for the Mac. For PC users jump back up to the top

 

 

Safari

.

Click on the 'History' menu on the tool bar at the top of your screen. The last item in the menu is Clear History. A dialog box will pop up asking you to confirm, simply click 'clear' to confirm.

 

You will also have the option of resetting your Top Sites. If you want to do that, click the check box, then click Clear.

 

Safari also has a Private Browsing mode. Click on Safari on the tool bar at the top of your screen and click on 'Private Browsing'. Your search history will not be kept at all while the mode is active.

How To Delete Your Computer's History (PC) - for Mac jump here

 

If you’re concerned about your privacy, it’s a good idea to clear the history when you’re done browsing. Here's how to clear your browser history in each of the most popular Web browsers for the PC. For Mac users hump here

 

Microsoft Internet Explorer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Safari

 

Click the gear icon in the upper-right corner of your screen and

select 'Reset Safari'.

 

In the resulting pop-up menu, check the items that you want to

clear; then press the 'Reset' button to clear your history.

 

 

 

 

 

Firefox

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chrome

 

Chrome users have access to the same keyboard shortcut as

Internet Explorer users. Press Ctrl + Shift + Delete and you'll

see the options for deleting your browser history.

 

As with Internet Explorer, simply check the boxes next to the

history items you want to clear, but be sure to examine the

options available to you in the drop-down menu at the top.

This menu allows you to specify how much of your history

you'd like to delete. You can choose to excise the past hour, day, week, or month or you can clear everything.

 

 

 

 

 

You can quikly delete your history using shortcut keys. Press Ctrl + Shift + Del to open the 'Delete

Browsing History' window. Check the boxes of the data you'd like to clear and click 'Delete'.

 

To delete history in Internet Explorer 7 and Above. Click on 'Tools' in the upper right-hand corner of your screen. Select 'Internet Options' from the dropdown menu and on the 'General' tab, within the 'Browsing history' section, click the 'Delete' button. Check the boxes of the data you'd like to clear and click 'Delete'.

 

Deleting history in older versions of Internet Explorer varies. In Internet Explorer 4 for example just

click the 'History' icon. Then click 'Clear Internet History' and click 'OK'. For Internet Explorer 3.02 and lower click the 'View' menu in the toolbar at the top of your screen.  Click 'Options' and open the 'Advanced' tab. Click on the 'Settings' tab and then click the 'Empty Folder' button.

Firefox users also have access to the same keyboard shortcut for deleting browser history as Internet Explorer and Chrome users. Press Ctrl + Shift + Delete to bring up the history-clearing options that are available to you in Firefox.

 

If you don't see a detailed list of what you can and can't delete, click the 'Details' arrow to reveal the specifics.

 

As with Chrome, you have the option of choosing a time range to clear. The options are a bit different, however. In Firefox, you can clear the last hour, the last 2 hours, the last 4 hours, the last full day, or your entire Firefox history.

Firefox

 

From the Firefox menu at the top of your screen, select

'Preferences'. Click on the Privacy tab. By default, Firefox

is set to Remember History. If that’s the currently active

setting, click on the “clear your recent history” link.

 

A new window will open, and you will have the option of

how long a time frame to clear, from one hour to

everything. Make your choice, and then click 'Clear Now'.

 

You can also set Firefox to Never Remember History.

Or you can customize the settings so that Firefox always

clears the cache when you quit Firefox.

 

Firefox also has a Private Browsing feature. Go to 'Tools' and click on 'Start Private Browsing' and your history will not be not saved.

Chrome

From the Chrome menu at the top of your screen select 'Clear Browsing Data'. From the pop-up window you will have the option to delete several kinds of stored data. Browser history is one the optioned checked by default. There is also a pop up menu for selecting a time frame, from one hour to the beginning of time.

 

The default selections are generally fine, so pick the time frame you want, and then click the 'Clear Browsing Data' button.

 

To use Chrome’s private browsing mode, click on the File menu and select 'New Incognito Window'. Sites visited while using the Incognito Window are not saved to the history.

© 2015 OUTSKIRTS

  • Wix Facebook page

ABOUT US                                                                                                                            OUR SERVICES                           

WHAT IS DOMESTIC VIOLENCE?                                                                                       WHAT IS SEXUAL ASSUALT / RAPE?

WHAT IS ART THERAPY?                                                                                                     WHAT IS DISCRIMINATION?

WHAT IS A FEMINIST APPROACH?                                                                                    WHAT IS CONSCIOUSNESS RAISING?

 

Charity registration number: 1172645